Lawyers Help Spread Holiday Cheer with “Dear Santa” Letter Campaign

Pictured above: The law firm of Clark Hill’s cheerful display of “Dear Santa” letters greets guests when they enter the firm’s lobby. Big thanks to the firm for fulfilling 100 letters during this year’s campaign! 

Each year, the Young Lawyers Section of The Chicago Bar Association teams up with Chicago Public Schools and Direct Effect Charities to help fulfill the needs and Christmas wishes of underprivileged CPS students through a “Dear Santa” letter campaign. 2018 was a banner year! Thanks to the generosity of the CBA’s members and several participating law firms, 640 gifts were purchased for the children of Irma C. Ruiz Elementary School, a CPS school with a low income population of greater than 80%.

We’d like to give a very special thanks to the law firm of Littler Mendelson for fulfilling 144 letters and for making an additional $100 cash donation, and the law firm of Clark Hill for fulfilling 100 letters. These firms went above and beyond to ensure our campaign was a success and their contributions are greatly appreciated.

We’d also like to acknowledge the following law firms for fulfilling 20+ letters this year:

Bates Carey

Vedder Price

Husch Blackwell

Nicolaides Fink Thorpe Michaelides Sullivan LLP

Schiff Hardin

Latimer LeVay Fyock

We also specifically acknowledge the following individuals who generously contributed to the campaign:

Kendall Alexander
Amanda Andrews
Shelley Awe
Sarah Ayers
Kristine Bergman
Kristine Bergman
Nikkita Brown
K Bucher
Kelly Burke
Puneet Cham
Jonathan Cipriani
Ashley Davidson
Darby Dickerson
Melissa Dunn
Natalie Ellis
Renee Fell
Paige Fox
Joe Giambrone
Karen Gillespie
Marcie Goldbloom
Chiquita Hall-Jackson
Rachelle Hammerquist
Joseph Homsy
Chris Hopkins
Martha Victoria Jimenez
Shenita Johnson
Amy Klie
Matthew Liebert
Anne Mayette
Erika McFee
Therese McGinnis
Dan McGinnis
Christina Mitakis
April Oboikowitch
Tim Oravec
Dillon O’Toole
Bryan Pitts
Adam Reis
Mary Robinson
Malerie Roddy
Linda Rothnagel
Aimie Rucinski
Sherrika Sanford
Randall Schmidt
Kathryn Siegel
Jodi Silberman
John Simpson
Eric Soule
Danielle Szczucki
Dan Terhune
Naomi Weitzel
Katherine Wheeler
David Williams
Kevin Zichtermann
Len Zolna

If you’d like to contribute to the YLS’ “Dear Santa” letter campaign in the future, email for information or keep your eyes peeled for email announcements from the CBA in November of each year.

Leave a Reply